Maria

We are delighted to introduce  Maria , a care leaver from York, having experienced  university at 30 and then again at 40 she is now a published writer and is self-employed, using her teaching degree to teach creative writing courses.

Maria’s story is launched today to mark the start  of National care leavers week.

Maria’s full story can be found here

“I’m Maria.  Now in my forties, I’ve been asked to share my experience of leaving care which was back in 1989.I had spent my teenage years in three children’s homes and two foster homes, and at that time, I was the only person at my secondary school in York (Jo-Ro,) who was in ‘care,’ so the usual bullying had resulted from that ” ….

Maria’s book  ‘Poetry for the Newly Single 40 Something is available at  www.stairwellbooks.co.uk

Leave a comment